Prayer for Opportunity

I have always loved this scene from the movie Evan Almighty.  I remember the first time I saw it.  My body was covered in chills at the truth behind the words at the end of the scene.  Take a second and watch it.

 

Ever since my boys were little, we have prayed every night before bed.  Part of our prayer has always been, “Let me be a light for you tomorrow.”  In the past six months, we have had three family friends begin a battle with cancer:  a vivacious fifth-grade girl has cancer in her bone, a wonderful friend from our small group has colon cancer, and a dear friend was just diagnosed with breast cancer.  Every diagnosis has sent me reeling, wanting to serve, but not quite knowing how.  Scott made the connection between our nightly prayer and this movie on the evening we found out about our friend’s breast cancer diagnosis.  We are being given an opportunity to be Jesus’ hands and feet, to show His love to these three families that we dearly love.  Their fight is hard.  Their battle is real.  But they are not alone.  They are not fighting alone.

SOL

5 thoughts on “Prayer for Opportunity

  1. Thank you for the peek into your family and faith. I will pray for your friends. I have a close friend who is into Year 5 of her battle against ovarian cancer.We have seen the power of prayer, and we have had beautiful opportunities to be with her through out times of need and times of rejoicing.

  2. Sorry for your friends and their battles. I have a friend who is going through a really tough time. I wrote about her in an earlier Slice this week. Thank you for reminding me that I am not just praying, but carrying on Christ’s ministry of healing.

Leave a comment