Daring

My mother doesn’t like peanut butter.  My favorite sandwich is a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  I like them so much, that was what I had for lunch every day for a year when I was 3.  When I was old enough, Mom taught me how to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

How to Make a Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich 

Recipe from Mom

Get two slices of bread, peanut butter, jelly, and a knife.

Smear jelly on a slice of bread with a knife.

Spread peanut butter on the other slice of bread with the same knife.

Smack the two slices of bread together so the covered sides touch.

Eat

I didn’t know the day she taught me how to make a sandwich that the order for putting jelly on the bread before spreading the peanut butter was important.  One day, she found peanut butter in the jar of jelly.  After that, I understood the importance of spreading the jelly first. (hee hee)

Today, I made a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for lunch.  I smeared on the jelly and then spread the peanut butter and smacked the two parts together and stuck it in a bag.  Then I decided to make another one as a snack for the baseball game this evening.  (Don’t judge the fact that I am eating two peanut butter and jelly sandwiches today and what that says about my nutritional focus. Stay focused on the point of the post, please!)

I got two more pieces of bread and picked up the knife.  It still had traces of peanut butter on it.  I almost reached for a new knife.  But then I realized, I am the only one who eats jelly in my house.  Everyone eats peanut butter.  I can use the same knife and put the peanut butter on first and then use the very same knife to spread the jelly.  It will be ok.

It felt so daring to break the rules this morning!

 

SOL

 

3 thoughts on “Daring

  1. I did not know that about your mother. How funny that you felt like you were breaking the rules by changing the order of the ingredients. Love the word smack when you put the slices together.

  2. This post really did make me laugh out loud! When I made sandwiches with my first graders (mainly because I had a hungry little guy who needed to learn to feed himself when school was not in session) I learned that there are many ways to make a PB&J. At my house we ALWAYS put jelly first so we do not cross contaminate it with the PB due to the fact that my son is highly allergic to peanuts.

    Enjoy both of those sandwiches today and that baseball game!

Leave a comment