If You Want to Hear from God, Get a Dog

It never ceases to amaze me how God speaks to me through the antics and behaviors of my dogs.  He did it with Lucy and Charlie all the time.  Lately, He has been doing it through Rosie.

I was leaving this morning early for work.  I would not return home tonight.  Max had a game in St. Louis.  We would all be meeting in St. Louis for the game, then I would drive down to Farmington and the boys would go home.  We decided to attach Rosie’s puppy playpen to her crate so she would have the ability to be in her crate and be outside of her crate for everything else while we were gone, but still be safe.  I put Rosie in the playpen this morning after she ate her breakfast, but I had the door open so she could go in and out as she pleased.  Rosie sat in the middle of the playpen and whimpered.

I walked back over to her and showed her the open door.  She just looked at me.  I waved my hand through the opening.  She continued to stare at me.  She began to whimper again.

I couldn’t understand.  She seems to be a pretty smart dog.  This should have been easy for her.  But she wouldn’t move.  She just sat and whimpered.  And then, He spoke.  (No, not audibly, but I heard him in my soul.)  “You do the same thing.”

“Do not.” (Why on earth don’t I know better than to respond like this by now to Him?  He is ALWAYS right!)

“Yes, you do.”

“When?”

“Remember those times when you fuss at me about how things are going?  You ask, “When will this end?  Why is this happening?”  Because I know.  I love you.  I keep you safe.  I know what is coming and I put you where you need to be to weather the storm.  Instead of trusting Me and being grateful for My love, you whimper just like she does. You don’t see the moment as evidence of My love for you.  You see it as animosity towards you.”

He was right, again.

Moral of the story:  If you want to hear from God, get a dog.

SOL

 

 

6 thoughts on “If You Want to Hear from God, Get a Dog

  1. God is so patient and kind….that he can even use a dog to get our attention. I smiled when I read it, thinking, “How true!” I think adding the moral at the end gave it a last touch of humor.

Leave a Reply

