Above 40

I drove up to the school and parked. As I crossed the street, I saw the principal and another teacher in the arrival line welcoming students to school.  They were dressed in knit hats, gloves, insulated coveralls, winter coats, and boots. I walked over to say hello. On my way towards the building, my flip-flops slapped the asphalt beneath my feet, a crisp, brisk air kissed my cheeks.

“Good morning!” I called out as I closed the distance between us.  They smiled and we exchanged morning pleasantries. As we chatted, their eyes took in my lack of coat and brightly painted toenails peering up from my flip-flops. I smiled and said, “Yeah, one of is under-dressed right now.”

“Aren’t you cold?” they asked.

“Nope. The forecast said it will be above 40 today. Any day above 40 is a flip-flop day,” I grinned as I replied. “Flip-flops equal happy feet.  Happy feet lead to great days.”

They shook their heads and laughed as I turned away to walk in and begin the day. The conversation got me wondering, what is your flip-flop threshold?

SOL

 

4 thoughts on “Above 40

  1. LOL! I live in the Central Valley of California. I don’t even begin to get warm until the temperature nears 80! I love the line “Happy feet lead to great days.”

  2. My feet would never survive flip-flops at forty degrees! In fact, my feet do not care for flip-flops or even sandals anymore. Glad you had happy feet!

Leave a comment