When Reality Makes No Sense

It was a simple phone call.

He called to work out the logistics of taking care of his son after school next week when he comes back home and switches places with his wife.

It was a normal, everyday kind of thing.

The kind of thing we all take for granted.

The kind of thing we call a chore.

 

Then doctors interrupted our conversation.

He put me on hold.

He came back.

“They are rushing her to the ICU. I gotta go.”

The urgency was my undoing.

My heart tore into pieces for him.

How do you stand this?

How do you function?

I wanted to scream.

I fell down in front of the throne instead.

Tears pooled and began to run in rivers down my cheeks.

“Please, please, please, Dear God. Grant wisdom to the doctors and nurses. Wisdom comes from You.  Hold her tight. Heal her body that You marvelously created. Hold them tight. Don’t. Let. Go. Let them feel Your presence. Hide them under Your wings, and give them refuge.”

 

I don’t know why this is their reality.

No one does.

But I know He has a plan.

A plan for good not for evil.

I have to put my trust in His plan.

 

It is one thing to say you have faith in God.

That you love Him.

Surrender your life to Him.

It is something else completely to trust in His plan when your reality makes no sense.

 

SOL

 

2 thoughts on “When Reality Makes No Sense

  1. I felt your pain and the anguish in every part of your writing. I’ve been questioning a lot lately since we know a 6 year-old and a 21 year-old with cancer. I just don’t understand how the universe works anymore.

  2. Well this was a heart-trigger of a post. Life certainly happens at a pace that can be unpredictable, and things can happen so very fast. I hope all is okay in this couple’s story, though it certainly sounds like they are in a scary patch. Prayers to them.

Leave a comment