Sunday Morning Donuts

We are sitting on the couch, together but separate. Each of us engaged in our electronic world.

“I know what I want for breakfast in the morning,” he says.

“Hmm?” I reply, still concentrating on the blog post I am reading.

“Your donuts.”

“My donuts?  It’s easier to go and buy donuts.”  The thought of making donuts sounds overwhelming this late in the evening.  “I’ll have to see if I have sour cream.  If I do, I suppose I can make them.”  He knows how to push my buttons.  Complimenting my baking is a sure fire way to get what he wants and he knows it after 19 years of marriage.

He knows how to push my buttons.  Complimenting my baking is a sure fire way to get what he wants, and he knows this after 19 years of marriage.

This morning, I enjoy the quiet of having the house to myself while everyone sleeps.  After I finish my book, he wakes up and comes out to the living room–perfect timing, really.

“Do you still want donuts?” I ask.

He’s still half asleep.  He is NOT a morning person.  He just nods.

I leave the couch and the coziness of the blanket I have been cocooned in while I was reading and head to the kitchen.  Let the donut mess begin.

The mess!

The donuts!

He was right (as he usually is).  They were good!

 

11 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Donuts

  1. Erin,
    The donuts do look scrumptious! And I LOVE that you did get to read and hubby did get donuts so it truly was a WIN/WIN! Great for any day but always special on a Sunday!

  2. Wow! I didn’t know that you can get a donut maker. We have a grilled cheese maker and a crepe maker but not that. Hmmm. Something I need to look around for. Some guests are coming in a couple of days to stay over during the March Break and part of my baking is banana bread and lemon poppy. Now, you raised the bar!

  3. Hmmm, didn’t know you were a donut maker! Now that sounds like a treat your should bring to a staffing (but only if I’m there). Maybe in May? You make multiple flavors? Such talent, donuts and writing!

Leave a comment