Erin’s Sonnet 43

Elizabeth Barrett Browning (1806-1861) was a romantic poet that penned the famous Sonnet 43:  How Do I Love Thee?.  I have used it as a mentor text to write a sonnet of my own for my husband, Scott.  Today, we are celebrating his birthday.  There will be presents and cake.  🙂

 

How do I love thee?  Let me count the ways.

You are my own personal tech guru.  There is nothing that you can’t fix.

You leave me love notes on the bathroom mirror on my desk.

You put our family first.

You have built strong relationships with our boys.

You provide for everything we need and want.

You enjoy eating out and don’t mind to do so when I don’t feel like cooking.

You know when I need ice cream.

You like celebrating the small things.

You are discerning.

You pay the bills so I don’t have to think about money, budgets, and numbers.

You use scissors on Rosie when you need to. (https://stepsintheliteracyjourney.wordpress.com/2017/03/08/love/)

You don’t mind using the carpet shampooer and you will vacuum the stairs.

You tell me I’m beautiful.

You come up behind me when I’m cooking, wrap your arms around me, and kiss my neck until I giggle.

You keep me grounded.

You have a sexy radio voice.

You are my own personal weatherman and will give me the forecast in your sexy radio voice.

You pursued me even when I made it EXTREMELY difficult.

You put up with me breaking up with you before finals week every semester of college that we dated.

You accept that I have a book hoarding issue and you don’t say silly things like, “Don’t you think you have enough books?”

You are always on my side when it feels like no one else is.

You know the actual lyrics to songs and don’t have to invent them like I do.

You know everything about the 80s and are willing to share your wealth of knowledge with me.

You will watch The Sound of Music with me, even though you strongly dislike musicals.

You shared your love of baseball with me and were patient with me bringing a book to read to games until I could fall in love with it, too.

You are a fierce competitor when it comes to coaching and you stick up for your players

You put God first in your life.

You make me laugh.  Our house is filled with laughter.

You are my best friend.

.

SOL

6 thoughts on “Erin’s Sonnet 43

  1. The sonnet provides lyrical evidence that you pay attention to the details. Not many husbands have sonnets written for then. Really, you broke up during finals week, more than once…that must have made focusing on finals quite a challenge for both of you.

  2. What a wonderful way to show your guy that you love him! I may have to steal this for a post next week, as we celebrate our 20 years together!! Have a wonderful day celebrating Scott!

  3. Hey! I think I know this guy! I appreciate all he does both for his family and for those of us who fall into the extended family category.

Leave a Reply

