Today I Celebrate

My sons have been looking forward to this weekend for quite some time.  Their youth group director hosts a Youth Weekend.  It starts on Friday night and runs through Sunday morning.  The kids participate in a variety of games, worship, teaching, fellowship, and fun.  Of course, nothing like this can be done by one person.  It takes a team of “behind the scenes” people to support this type of event.

I was lucky enough to be able to be on the lunch serving team today.  There were about 10 of us.  We prepared the fixings for taco salads or burritos with brownie sundaes for dessert. I was the carb queen. As the kids came through the line, I asked, “Chips, tortilla, or both?”

The kids were so polite as they came through the line.  So many of them said, “Thank you,” or “Thanks for serving us today.”  They were smiling. It was clear they were happy to be there.

The youth leader also expressed his thanks to us many times.  After lunch, he was taking the kids to Jefferson City to go ice skating. (Two school buses of sixth through twelveth graders.  And he was thanking me???)  I told him I had the easy job today.  I was thrilled to be able to do dishes if I didn’t have to go with them.

He replied, “No, I LOVE my job!  I love these kids.  This is awesome!”

Today I want to celebrate how lucky my kids are to be loved on and led by a man who is passionate about my kids and developing their faith.  I want to celebrate that they are being ministered to by someone who has found his passion in life, in hopes that they will see him living his passion and realize that God has great things in store for them as well.

8 thoughts on “Today I Celebrate

  1. Great example of that “village” that helps us raise our children. Grateful for those who devote their time and energy to the interests of our youth! Glad your sons had this experience!

  2. I would have chosen your job–serving food. Or making it. And good for the youth director for sharing his gifts with those young people.

    There are amazing people in this world sharing wonderful gifts with others!

Leave a Reply

