Why Write

As teachers, we ask students all the time to try new things.  Things they aren’t comfortable with.  Things they have never done.  Things outside of the realm of safe and known.  Yet we, choose not to do things that push us out of our comfort zone.  How can I be a writing teacher if I don’t know what it means to be a writer?  How will I know what it means to be a writer if I don’t write?  How will I help students know how to tackle the blank page if I never force myself to face it–and defeat it?  Writing is a skill.  Skills develop with practice.  Skills develop over time.  I can’t try something once and call it “done” or pronounce myself an expert.  I have to keep working on it.  Day after day. Month after month.  Year after year.  And every time I sit in front of the blank page and defeat it, every time I allow my fingers to dance over the keys and thoughts to flow, I am have more experience I can share with my writers.  That is why I write.

One thought on “Why Write

Leave a Reply

