Another Morning Surprise

SOL

They were standing outside their classrooms, chatting and watching their students arrive. They smiled when they saw me and called out greetings as I made my way down the hall.  Writing in honor of Dr. Seuss adorned the hallways.  All of a sudden, something caught my eye.

“What is this I see?”  I exclaimed.  My eyes zoomed in on the bright blue bulletin board paper hanging in the hallway.  It pulled my body towards it.  It was a magnet with an attraction I was not able to break.

“We tried interactive writing,” they sang out, grinning from ear to ear.

“Your first interactive writings!  I’m so proud of you!  You are awesome!  Look at you guys!  You did it and it looks AMAZING!  What did your students think?”  The words came out in a rush.  I couldn’t believe what I was seeing.  I couldn’t stop squealing.

The teachers left their doorways to gather around the first piece of interactive writing hanging in the hall.  They walked united  to join me in front of the piece that held me captive. “They loved it.  They were so engaged.  They were excited.  They loved the writing and the illustrating.”

“They loved it.  They were so engaged.  They were excited.  They loved the writing and the illustrating.”  Their words came back in their own rush of excitement.  Students left their classrooms and joined us in the hall. My squealing and excitement attracting their attention from their morning duties.

“Mrs. Baker!  Look what we did!  Do you like it?”  Tiny arms encircled my waist.  Hands reached out for mine.  The energy in the hallway was contagious.

“I love it!  It’s beautiful!  Look at all the things you learned about the Land of Ice.  You are so smart and you are sharing it with everyone with your writing,” I answered.

I wrapped my arms around my teachers and pulled them all into a big hug.  My smile stretched from ear to ear.  My heart stretched to near breaking.  Tears threatened to fall.  “You guys made my day!  I love it!  What a great surprise and the perfect way to start today!”

One thought on “Another Morning Surprise

  1. It’s always exciting to see teachers implementing something you’ve talked about. And what do you know, it has value! Great description of your discovery. You really slowed the action down and brought the reader right along.

Leave a Reply

