I am…

I am tired and resigned.

I wonder when this merry-go-round will stop.

I hear the footsteps of my husband and the water of my son’s shower above my head.

I see the numbers of the clock telling me it is 28 minutes past my bedtime and I know I cannot stop yet.

I want to be with them, to go to bed, to stop.

I am tired and resigned.

 

I pretend I am fine.

I feel hollow and alone.

I touch the keys of my computer and continue to tap out my thoughts.

I worry about finishing, getting it all done, catching up.

I am tired and resigned.

 

I understand this will pass.

I say I will have better perspective when I am not so tired.

I dream of one day all teachers agreeing and holding hands together across this nation in “perfect harmony” like the Coke commercial from my childhood.

I try to remind myself the world is a more interesting place because we are all different and have our own beliefs and thoughts.

I hope one day soon it will all work itself out and we will do what is best for kids again.

I am tired and resigned.

newSOLC

 

7 thoughts on “I am…

  1. Erin,
    I am ever hopeful that the pendulum will quickly right itself. We will never go back to the days of yesteryear, but I am optimistic that education and teachers will again be respected for their wisdom and knowledge.

  2. I hear your exhaustion in this poem. I hope the weekend brings a measure of relief for you. Better check my post today, it might bring some joy to you. Rest up friend!

  3. Love and echo Kim’s words above! I arrived here because of Elsie’s post today. What a fabulous community we slicers share. Here’s to a happy Friday and some rejuvenating rest this weekend!

  4. “I try to remind myself the world is a more interesting place because we are all different and have our own beliefs and thoughts.”

    So good to get it out in our words, to share with this wonderful writing community.

    Her’es to a restful, re-energizing and re-joyful weekend! We all need it.

Leave a Reply

