Be Still

image

Have you ever wanted to be the “favorite”?  Do you work hard to be the one that people like and respond to?  Do you ever think about what others think about you? Obsess about it?  Compare yourselves to others?  I do.  All. The. Time.

I work tirelessly to be what everyone needs me to be.  The great wife. The perfect mom. The good daughter.  The efficient employee.  The wise one. The perfect person who has it all together.  I guess I figure if I am perfect, people will like me, and I will be their favorite.

Yesterday I took my son and his friend to Six Flags for the day.  We were eating lunch when I noticed Sam’s face was a bit pink.  I forgot the sunscreen.  It was raining when we left and supposed to be overcast all day.  Now his face was pink. Ugh.  I laughed it off and said, “Oh well, one more reason why I won’t be “Mom of the Year”.  His friend looked at me and said, “I wouldn’t want my mom to be “Mom of the Year”.  Then she would be perfect and we would never have any fun.”

Wise words.  What do I miss out on by trying to be the favorite?  With all my striving, do I meet anybody’s needs or just wear myself out?

Be still and know that I am God.

I will be exalted among the nations.  

I will be exalted in the earth. Psalm 46:10  (emphasis on ‘I’, mine)

Perhaps, I am striving for a position I was not meant to have.

Perhaps, I should just be still.

Leave a Reply

