Celebrate

celebrate-image

Today I want to celebrate love. My husband and I are celebrating 18 years of marriage today. Like every marriage, we have had our “for better and for worse”. Yet, we have always come out stronger. I know this is because it is not just Scott and I in this marriage. God is here, too. Before we were married, we went through premarital counseling with our pastor. 500px-Braid_StepBystepHe described marriage as cords being fastened together over time. My husband and I would each be a cord. Two cords twisted together can be strong. But if you want a marriage that will not break, you must have a third cord, God.  He explained that when you invite God to be a part of your marriage, then you braid your cords around His creating a strand that will not break.

Scott and I have worked hard to keep our marriage centered around God. Are we perfect?  No.  Is there room for growth?  Oh, yeah. But is our love deeper and stronger than this day 18 years ago when we both stepped into marriage not knowing what to expect?  You bet. weddingI will always be thankful that I married my best friend.  No one else in my life makes me laugh like he does or makes me feel so beautiful. I know I can count on him to be there with me.  He is there with me through the absolutely yucky (holding my hair back while a puke from the pain of kidney stones).  He is there with me through the simply glorious (watching our boys grow into manhood). He is there. Always. Right by my side. And someday, when we are old and gray, we will be able to sit in our rockers on the porch and relive it all over again, together.

Leave a Reply

