Behind Me

SOL

When Scott and I were newly married, we took a Discovery class offered by our church.  The purpose of the class was to help us identify our calling–what God created us to do.  We were told our calling is where our passions and our interests intersect.  Seventeen years ago, I figured out my calling, and it hasn’t changed since.  I am passionate about kids, teaching, and reading.  Through this class and prayer, I discovered my calling is to help kids learn to read so one day they would be able to use this skill to find God.  This was my goal when I was in the classroom, and it is my goal still as I work with teachers.  I want them to help their students fall in love with reading, so one day they can fall in love with God.

You know that saying, “Behind every good man is an even better woman”?  My saying would be, “Behind every good woman is an even better man.”  I would not be able to do the things I do if it weren’t for my husband.  I left today and won’t be home until Friday.  During these four days, not only will he go in to his own office to work, he will also coach three baseball practices/ games, chauffeur two boys to and from school, baseball practices, drum lessons, chapel practice, youth group, and the early morning bus for the competition Max is competing in on Friday.  He will fix breakfasts, help determine lunches, cook dinner, help with homework, wash and iron clothes, feed two dogs, help corral one rabbit after exercise time, and if that weren’t enough, it is When In Rome Day in the fifth grade on Friday, and Sam needs to wear a toga to school.

My husband’s willingness to stay home and “man” the house (pun not intended, but it is funny!) allows me to work towards my calling.  To say I am grateful, would be an understatement. However, I guess that is what love is and what love does. Love thinks of the other person when making decisions.  Love is using actions to support the hopes and dreams of the other.  Love is saying, “Go, I got this.  We will be fine.”

So while I am off spreading the love of literacy across this great state, my husband will be home, spreading love to our two boys, our two dogs, and our rabbit.  And let’s not forget, he will be creating a toga!

6 thoughts on “Behind Me

  1. You two are a team, a powerful team that is an awesome model for your boys. Some weeks are away, some allow you to be home, but as a team all bases are covered. I do think you are pushing the scale a little with the addition of Oshie 🙂 .

  2. This is super sweet. I hope you share it with your husband. He deserves to know how special he is to you.

    I so admire your mission! You go girl!

  3. Love this. So very true! I am of a fan of ” My saying would be, “Behind every good woman is an even better man.” I would not be able to do the things I do if it weren’t for my husband” as I can relate. Your husband sounds like a real solid guy with his priorities straight. Good for your family for having this kind of partnership present and great for your boys for having a strong woman letting her creative life take charge sometimes!

Leave a Reply

