Green or Black?

SOL

Yesterday I went to Hy-Vee for dog treats and bath poufs.  We just needed a few last minute things before we could leave on our spontaneous mini-vacation.  As I walked into the store, I saw a spinning rack filled with seed packets.  Tomatoes, carrots, bib lettuce, spinach, zucchini, squash, cucumbers, peppers, corn, green beans, and peas.  And herbs.  Oregano, sweet basil, thyme, rosemary, cilantro.   I lost focus.  I was absorbed by the seeds and dreams of summer and harvesting.

There is farming in my blood. My grandfather was a farmer once upon a time. His father was a farmer. Every spring, I have an itch to plant. I don’t know if there is any green in my thumbs, though. I’ve never had a real garden. I’ve had pots. I’ve grown small plants bigger.

I guess we will find out this summer if my thumbs are green or black. I left Hy-Vee with dog treats and poufs.  And seeds. Lots and lots of seeds.

9 thoughts on “Green or Black?

  1. Those seeds packets do beckon, I hope you have better luck than I did. Now I let others start the seed. I will buy the little plants to put in my mini-garden. A mini-vacation? Well deserved! Enjoy!

  2. Here’s wishing your thumb is green! I have flower gardens but no real vegetable or herb gardens, although I grow herbs on the windowsill. Last year I planted one lonely tomato plant. But it did grow and gave us just enough fruit.

  3. Good time to purchase those seeds! There is something that makes homegrown food taste so much better than that purchased at a grocery store. Spring is the perfect time to begin planning and dreaming about tasting and enjoying the yummy produce from home. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

