Fences

SOL

“Lucy.”  I search the yard.  Where is she?

“Lucy.”  A bit louder this time.  Maybe she couldn’t hear me over all the birds.  Yeah, that’s it.

“Lucy!”  Still no sign of my sweet, little dog.

She has done it again. I am fuming.  Why can’t she stay in the yard?  It’s huge.  There are tons of things to explore in this yard.  Why does she insist on being devious and finding ways to get out of the yard?  I don’t get it!  I give her plenty of food.  It’s not like she is looking for her next meal again like she was before.  She has a cozy bed with an old comforter to make it soft and squishy so she can burrow into it.  It’s not like she is sleeping in a ditch like before.  Why  does she run away?  Why can’t she see how good she has it and just stay here?

And then I hear a voice inside my soul quietly ask, “What about you?”

“Huh?  What about me?  I stay where I am told.  I don’t long for…

Oh.

The realization hits me and my heart is suddenly heavy with the weight of it.

Images rain down through my mind and I see all the times where I have left the safety of all He provides in search for something “better”.  The times where I haven’t appreciated all the blessings I have been given because I have been too focused on what I don’t have.  And worst of all, the times I have tuned out and solely focused on me, me, me.

Oh.

You don’t put up those barriers to be mean.  You put them up to keep me safe.  You don’t put them up because You love others more.   You put them up because You love me so much.  Light glimmers where once was darkness.

Now when I look at the “fence” in my life, I don’t see what I can’t have.  I am thankful for the protection it provides because it reminds me I am right where I need to be.

fence

7 thoughts on “Fences

  1. Wow! I’m not sure that I have the words to express how your post resonated with me. I loved how you said that “Light glimmers where once was darkness.” This is a post that I anticipate revisiting! This was such a powerful post! Thank you!

  2. Wow. Just loved this post! How often we just long for “more” whether it is a bigger house or more of this or that. All that longing robs us of the blessings we have. A fence–what a great reminder that we are where we need to be.
    Love this.
    Darla & Jen

  3. A thought-provoking post! There is so much depth in your last line, “Now when I look at the “fence” in my life, I don’t see what I can’t have. I am thankful for the protection it provides because it reminds me I am right where I need to be.” Love this! (Did Lucy return?)

  4. Thank you for sharing your insight. It is amazing when The Lord teaches us thru our own lessons. Harley is my dog and The Lord teaches me lessons through him as well. Thanks for touching my heart.

Leave a Reply

