Naivety

SOL

Teasingly it invites me closer,

I listen, not understanding it looks at me as a cat looks at a mouse.

It beckons me as the Wolf beckoned Red Riding Hood,

“But Grandmother, what big arms you have.”

“The better to hug you with, my dear.”

I am naive.   I believe its motives are pure.

I am captivated by its beauty,

Its magnificence.

The world looks so different when it is present.

I drive closer, inching my way along the road.

In a moment,

It swallows me whole.

fog 2      fog

3 thoughts on “Naivety

  1. Such a good piece for close reading! Have the discussion of what the words are talking about before showing the pictures, then show the pics and discuss. I had totally different thoughts until I got the pics. Nice!
    Glad you could use my piece today. 🙂

  2. What a thought-provoking poem (and images, too!). That line.. “in a moment it swallowed me whole” is so interesting to me. Makes me wonder what “it” is – all the possibilities!

Leave a Reply

