Who Am I?

SOL
I have read it all before…

“I write to make my life significant.”
“I write because I have to.”
“There are stories everywhere, you just have to be aware and “looking” for them.”
“You must live your life like a writer.”

I have read these quotes, and more, tucked into the pages of professional books on how to teach writing, how to be the world’s best writing teacher, and I would think, “Yeah, right.  That is for everyone else in the world.  Not me.”  I have never thought of myself as a “writer”.  In fact, there is only one other word I would never have used to describe myself –athlete.   I am not, nor will I ever be, nor do I dream of becoming an athlete.  Writer was just a step up from athlete.  I never saw that as something I could do.

And then this SOL Challenge came along.  For some reason, I jumped.  Perhaps it was looking at all the fabulous prizes to be awarded at the end of the month.   (I will do just about anything for a free book.)  But now, I don’t care if I win or not.  Now it is not about the fabulous prizes.  It is about discovering my voice.  It is about investing in myself with this time I set aside every day.  (Thank you, Fran McVeigh for that powerful word!  https://franmcveigh.wordpress.com/2015/03/01/march-challenge-sol15-day-one)   It is about the wonderful surprise of finding stories hiding behind the corners of my life.  It is about the satisfaction I receive as I watch my fingers dance over the keys and make the small moments of my life significant.

Writing has found a place in my life.  I am so thankful I didn’t miss finding this gift.

So who am I, you ask?

I am a child of God,
a wife,
a mother,
a daughter.
a teacher.

I am a friend,
a reader,
a baker,
a singer,
a knitter,
an ice-cream lover.

I am a washer of all things dirty,
a mender,
a wiper of tears,
a hugger,
a confidant.

I am a writer.

12 thoughts on “Who Am I?

  1. Isn’t it amazing to find the voice you have in writing? I’m glad you jumped in and now you know some things that I know. You have a voice, one that is authentic and you have validity with teachers. You know what their kids know, but most of the teachers we see, don’t know about being a writer. Spread the word sister, I’m right by you.

  2. Lovely poem. I think we all have stories inside that will come out if we give them the chance. The SOL Challenge is the place to let it happen and reading the comments people leave is so encouraging.

  3. very much enjoyed your poem and will paying you the highest of compliments by “stealing” “Borrowing” using your idea today. Thank you for sharing and for writing.

Leave a Reply

