Joy

SOL
I saw her as I drove down to Wal-Mart.  An ordinary, routine, everyday kind of moment.

Her ebony ringlets bounced.

Her caramel face reflected the light from the sun.

Her raspberry colored coat was a stark contrast against the white, brightness of the snow.

She was skipping.

Step-hop,

step-hop,

step-hop.

Every hop made the ringlets bounce against her shoulder.

The sun’s rays danced on her cheeks.

Her mother behind her walked more slowly.  She trudged along the sidewalk.  She was obviously out for exercise.

Her daughter was out for joy.

 

She reminded me, I have a choice to make.

I choose joy.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Joy

  1. Wow – these two lines: “She was obviously out for exercise. Her daughter was out for joy.” You have made such an important observation about our adult outlooks/perspectives…yes, let’s choose joy!

  2. Oh my… how this should be my mantra! “CHOOSE JOY!” Your use of personification explodes with an energy that screams “I love life!”… against the vividness of a life-filled with the burden of living a life of hardships. I love the contrast of the two women… or are they one woman who has lost that zest for life? Hopefully, if it is the latter then let the inspiration of the memory of a younger life help her return to that energy of loving life!

  3. I love this post and reminder! Your choice to use such sparse text was wonderful and makes emphasizes that we simply must make the choice to live joyously. Like sparse meaningful writing, that choice is not so simple. You were able to convey your meaning wonderfully. I need to practice sparse, poetic writing. Thanks so much for sharing.

    • Thanks so much for your kind words. I didn’t’ realize that I had chosen to write with sparse text. I just did it. Thanks for naming that craft move for me so I can be more intentional in the future. 🙂

  4. When we stop to observe others, we can reflect on our own path. Joy is the better way to go. Loved the detailed description, I could see this cutie skipping along.

  5. I too loved the phrase “out for joy” and all the vivid description of the child. At first I wondered why you didn’t tell us much about the mother, but I’m thinking the mother is less important–we can fill in the blanks of an adult trudging along, walking because she knows it is good for her. There are so many “should do” things in my life, and it’s easy to find a kind of joy in a pint of salted caramel Haagen-Dazs, but you’ve challenged me to try to find joy in the things that are healthy for me.

Leave a Reply

